The Oldest College of Higher Education in Nepal – Tri Chandra College

March 18, 2022

Tri-Chandra Multiple Campus, more commonly known as Tri-Chandra College, is a constituent campus of Tribhuvan University located in Ghantaghar, Kathmandu. Found in 1918 by then Rana Prime Minister Chandra Shumsher, it is the oldest institute of higher learning in Nepal. The current name Tri-Chandra is a truncated combination of two words: Tribhuvan for King Tribhuwan Bir Bikram Shah and Chandra for Rana Prime Minister Chandra Shumsher. The college was originally named Tribhuvan Chandra Intermediate Campus but later renamed and shortened to its current name.
The college introduced science at the Intermediate level a year later, marking the genesis of formal science education in the country. In 1924, it became a full four-year institution with an enrollment of just 30. However, up until the advent of democracy in 1951, the college was not accessible to the general public, but only to a handful of “elite members of the Rana regime”. The main purpose of imparting science at that time was to prepare the students for further studies in technical subjects, such as medicine, engineering, agriculture, forestry, etc., in India. The science teaching at Tri-Chandra was upgraded to the Bachelor level (BSc) in 1945. Tri-Chandra was originally affiliated to the University of Calcutta, then to Patna University before finally being constituted into Tribhuvan University in 1959.
Present-day Tri Chandra College.  Photo: Sahana Bajracharya, Miss Nepal Earth, 2010
The college offers numerous programs across science and humanities. In science, it runs BSc and MSc programs; while in humanities, it offers BA and MA programs.

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences:
Department of Nepali
Department of philosophy and Psychology
Department of Economics

Faculty of Sciences:
Department of Geology
Department of Meteorology
Department of Physics
Department of Mathematics
Department of Statistics
Department of Chemistry
Department of Environmental Science
Department of Zoology
Department of Botany
Department of Microbiology
Department of Sociology